Global Health Nexus, Summer 2003

NYU Dentistry Unveils Monolith Honoring Recipients of All- University Distinguished Teaching and Administrator Awards

Saying that he wanted to provide a formal place of honor for NYU Dentistry recipients of the University’s highest teaching and administrative awards over the past 10 years, Dean Alfano recently unveiled a 70-inch-high by 24-inch-wide monolith made of stainless steel. The monolith, inscribed with the awardees’ names and set atop a black marbleized base, is on permanent display in the Arnold Schwartz Memorial Lobby.

“Although these outstanding individuals were honored by NYU the year they received their all-University awards, until now no formal recognition has been provided to them as a group on their home turf,” said Dean Alfano. With the unveiling of this monolith, we will rectify that omission.”

The Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes faculty members who have contributed significantly to the intellectual life of New York University through their teaching. The Distinguished Teaching Medalists from NYU Dentistry over the past decade are: Dr. Herbert Frommer, Professor of Diagnostic Science and Urgent Care and Director of Radiology (1984); Dr. Lidia Kiremidjian-Schumacher, Professor of Basic Science and Craniofacial Biology (1998); Dr. Paul A. Rosenberg, Associate Dean for Graduate Programs and Professor and Chairman of the Dr. I.N. and Sally Quartararo Department of Endodontics (1999); and Dr. Anthony T. Vernillo, Professor of Oral Pathology (2002).

The Distinguished Administrator award recognizes outstanding achievements as an administrator and dedicated service to faculty, students, and staff. In recent years, NYU Dentistry has been represented in this category by Ms. Novella Jones, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions (1999), and Mr. Glenn Marrus, Director of Quality Assurance (2002).